Yesterday was a rainy, grey day in New York City and to make myself feel a little better about the weather I decided to cook a warm, comforting dinner based on this recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely adding a couple special touches of my own.

First, I gathered the ingredients from Smith & Ratliff’s recipe:

1 Lb. Quattro Formaggi Ravioli
1 Rome Apple (Cut into matchsticks)
4 Tbsp. Olive Oil
1/2 Cup Chopped Walnuts
1/2 Cup Parsley (Lightly chopped)
1/4 Cup Parmesan Cheese

Then, I added a couple of ingredients of my own:

1/2 A Medium Sized Yam (Cut into matchsticks)
1/4 Cup of Dried Cranberries
1 Tsp. Cinnamon

The ingredients: ravioli, a yam, apples, parsley, walnuts, Parmesan, olive oil, dried cranberries

While the ravioli was boiling, I put the walnuts in a skillet with 2 Tbsp. of olive oil.  I then chopped up the apple, the yam and the parsley. After the walnuts were lightly toasted I added an additional 2 Tbsp. of olive oil and added the chopped-mix.

I let everything simmer with the walnuts for 10 minutes (or until the yam bits are cooked) and then added the Parmesan and cinnamon to the fall ‘stir-fry.’ Only after all the ingredients were mixed together did I toss in the ravioli. Finally, once the pasta was served I sprinkled dried cranberries on top.

YUM!

With a friend and a glass of wine it was the perfect way to end the day, staying cozy and dry.

