This weekend I am taking off to Madison, Wisconsin. As excited as I am to be on vacation and see family, the idea of Wisconsin in November, and the cold weather that comes with it, sends shivers up and down my spine and I start to panic. What if I don’t make it? What if I didn’t pack enough winter gear? What if I get stuck, outside, in the cold, in the snow AND I get frostbite? Sounds melodramatic but that is exactly what I start to think. I just don’t like the cold.

In the midst of my panic a friend of mine sent me this video by Sigur Ros that reminded that no matter how cold it is outside, somewhere someone is playing in warm ocean water.

A large part of the reason I love warm weather is because I love the ocean (and its just not as fun to swim when its below freezing). Being underwater when all you can hear is the sounds of waves crashing above you or on the shore behind you, are some of my most serene moments.  The comfort of warm sand on your feet while the sun beams down on your sea soaked body couldn’t be more relazing. And there is nothing better than a sunset on the beach.

Sun setting in Montauk, NY

This poster by dear musketeer says it all. (It is definitely on my wish list!) Keep your eye out, deer musketeer is opening an online shop!

When I finally relocate to a tropical climate I will have one of these breathtaking bedrooms!

“Like children playing by the ocean who build sand-towers with constancy and then destroy them with laughter. But while you build your sand-towers the ocean brings more sand to the shore, And when you destroy them the ocean laughs with you. Verily the ocean laughs always with the innocent. ” – Khalil Gibran

Have a wonderful and warm weekend!

